The Struggle

I want a simpler life, really, I do! However, I’m struggling with going through and picking out what to keep, toss, give, recycle,etc… We went through the easiest part of the kitchen, next will be the cookware/utensils… and you know what?? I DON’T WANT TO! I don’t want to choose how many cookie sheets to keep or whether or not to hold on to 1 or 2 of my beloved 13×9 baking dishes. What if I want to make a casserole and a cake in the same day? See the problem?

this is the cookware cabinet, pots, pans, baking dishes and tupperware
this is the cookware cabinet, pots, pans, baking dishes and tupperware
Misc. cookie sheets, salad spinner, lunch trays used when making christmas cookies and so many other projects
Misc. cookie sheets, salad spinner, lunch trays used when making christmas cookies and so many other projects
old cupcake pans and new muffin pans, who needs both?
old cupcake pans and new muffin pans, who needs both?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paring-down or as I like to call it, “smart-sizing,” isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Our first sorting session that I posted about in the kitchen was quite easy. Now the real challenge, for me personally, will begin. I love to cook and bake. I like my tools and utensils. I have fear of getting rid of something and really missing it or that its absence will make my life harder. This would go against the idea of living the tiny making my life easier.

At this point I must explain that there’s a certain amount of introspection and psychological digging we have to do to find out WHY we want to keep our things, what purpose do they serve? Do we really NEED them or is it just more stuff, do I seriously need two baking dishes? And in the end, will tiny living really be a life we can ENJOY if it means giving up so many of our possessions?

So, what’s a girl to do?? My plan? Well, as I’m writing this, it occurs to me that I will be putting these things in storage and not yet giving them away, just as a test. That perspective might help to make it easier to part with some of my items, knowing they are not far away if I find that I really NEED them.

Another aspect to take in account is that in my tiny home, with less things, organization will be key. As you can see these cabinets are awfully messy, but the space is not proper for good organization. One of the things I look forward to most is customization for what things we have decided to keep, even it it is both baking dishes.

I hope by next week, these spaces will look very different as I continue to come realize this is just an experiment for now, nothing is permanent and I can always go back. But the hope is that I won’t need to. Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading, please be sure to subscribe so you will know when a new post goes up. Also, please leave comments/tips on how you have or would handle this issue!

~Audrey

4 thoughts on “The Struggle

  1. Hi, good luck on all the challenges you have ahead!
    Have you already chosen a model for your tiny house? When do you plan on actually moving?

    Like

    • Hello C.
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. We are currently saving for and designing our house. We hope to start building in a year. Our goal is to move in two years, if not sooner.
      As far as, should we do this? That is a great question, one we ask ourselves all the time! Because of that we are conducting several experiments in tiny living and more as the time gets closer to build. We are worried that we will start building then find out we are not geared for tiny living.
      However, we have spent time living in very small quarters before, so we have a little experience that gives us hope. When we lived in Australia for 6 months we had a very small flat, as well as the 6 weeks we lived in Italy.
      One of the reasons we have a lot of hope for this new life is because we enjoyed those times so much. Life was simpler, less to clean and maintain. We had time to do fun things together, which is our favorite hobby.
      Thanks again for asking questions and bringing up valid concerns. Please feel free to ask any more questions you might have or share some experiences you or someone you know have had!
      Sincerely,
      Audrey

      Like

How about you? Thoughts, Experiences?

